On tram to the historical town of Sakai
During the Period of Warring States, Sakai flourished as a port for trade. It developed trade with overseas nations, and became a rich, liberal self-governing city. In the spring of 2006, Sakai became a Government Ordinance City. Take a tour around the town of Sakai, with its unique history and spirit, in Osaka's only streetcar.
|Hankai Tramway Ebisucho Station|
|Takasu Jinsha Station|
|2.||10 min walk||Former Gunmaker's house|
|3.||3 min walk|
|4.||2 min walk|
|5.||2 min walk|
|6.||3 min walk|
|7.||7 min walk|
|8.||1 min walk|
|Hamadera Ekimae Station|
|9.||A short walk|
1. Hankai Tramway
There are two lines; the Hankai Line from "Ebisucho" Station, where Tsutenkaku Tower stands, to "Hamadera Ekimae" Station, and the Uemachi Line from "Tennoji Ekimae" Station to "Sumiyoshi Koen" Station. Running while almost brushing the eaves of townhouses is interesting. The only streetcar in Osaka.
|Admission||One section ￥200, 2 sections ￥290. "Teku Teku Ticket", a one-day free pass that allows get on/get off anywhere is a bargain at ￥600!|
2. Former Gunmaker's house
Guns were introduced to Tanegashima Island in 1543. Sakai mastered their production process and became noted as a huge production center, contributing to the battles of the warlords of the Period of Warring States, such as Nobunaga Oda, Hideyoshi Toyotomi, Ieyasu Tokugawa etc. About 10 minutes walk from Takasu Jinja Station takes you to the Edo Period Gunmaker's house in (Interior not open to public). Dignified rows of houses in the town convey the atmosphere of the time.
|Sakai Tourism and Convention Bureau, TEL: 072-233-5258 / FAX: 072-233-8448, E-mail: email@example.com|
3. Sakai HAMONO Museum (Sakai Cutlery Traditional Industry Hall)
3 minutes walk to southwest from Myokokujimae Station. The quality and the name of Sakai cutlery spread all over Japan when the Tokugawa government exclusive sold tobacco knives (knives to cut tobacco leaves) engraved with the "Sakai Prime" mark in the Edo period. At this museum, you can observe, hear, and experience such history and process. Not only the image and materials but also the finishing process of the "blade attachment" by a craftsman is very interesting. Consultation / repair assistance regarding cutlery also available.
|Federation of Sakai Cutlery Commerce and Industry Association TEL: 072-227-1001 / FAX: 072-238-8906|
4. Xavier Park
The park rich in greenery seen from the window of a streetcar is a spot for comfort for the citizens. It was 1550 when Francisco Xavier, who introduced Christianity to Japan, came to Sakai. He stayed in the mansion of a grand merchant Ryokei Hibiya for missionary activity, and this park was built on that site. It was named in 1944 to commemorate the 400th anniversary of his coming to Japan.
5. Site of Home of Akiko Yosano
Akiko Yosano, a poetess known by poems "Disheveled hair" and "Brother, please don't die" was born as the third daughter of Soshichi Ootori, a sweets merchant of Sakai, and his wife Tsune on December 7, 1878. Her home was destroyed by fire in WWII, but a monument to her poetry stands related to the site of her home on the west side of the road. Also other monuments to her poetry are scattered throughout the city.
6. Site of House of Rikyu Senno
Senno Rikyu who perfected the Tea Ceremony was also born in Sakai. He was born in 1522 as the eldest son of a grand merchant Totoya studied under Joo Takeno, etc, and perfected the Tea Ceremony in Simplicity. He served Nobunaga Oda and Hideyoshi Toyotomi as the head of Tea Ceremony, but was ordered to commit ritual suicide because he had angered Hideyoshi. A well remains on the site.
Nagayoshi Miyoshi built it, and it was destroyed by fire in the Summer Battle of Osaka. It was rebuilt later in 1617 by Senior Priest Takuan. It is known as the temple where the young Rikyu Senno trained for Tea Ceremony. There is a tea room Jissoan connected with Rikyu, a wash basin treasured by him, a tower for the repose of the Sen clan, a dry landscape garden designated as a fine view by the national government, etc, on the premises. Strangely enough, there is also a grave of Ieyasu Tokugawa...? The temple holds amazing historical legends.
|Admission||Adults ￥400, Junior and senior high school students ￥300, Children ￥200|
Built in the early Muromachi Period. Wall paintings in the main temple and 4 rooms inside by the Kano school in the first half of 17th century are Important Cultural Properties. The splendid colors on a golden background are breathtaking.
9. Hamadera Park
Hamadera Park spreads out in front of the Hankai Tramway terminal, Hamadera Ekimae Station is one of the oldest parks in the prefecture, built in 1873. The beautiful pine forest was depicted in poems in the time of Manyo, and the remaining pine trees are still beautiful. There is a rose garden, a traffic amusement park with a miniature locomotive, go-karts, and even a game center. There is a monument to a poem by Akiko Yosano. This park is a spot of comfort for the citizens.
|Inquiry||Park Management Office|